Different River

”You can never step in the same river twice.” –Heraclitus

February 17, 2005

Top Award for Inventors of the Internet

Filed under: — Different River @ 6:09 pm

The 2004 Turing Award, the so-called “Nobel Prize of Computing,” has been awarded to the inventors of the Internet — that is, to Vinton Cerf and Robert Kahn, who developed the TCP/IP protocol that is the basis for all Internet communications (web, e-mail, etc.).

The $100,000 prize is sponsored by Intel and awarded by the Association for
Computing Machinery (ACM)
, the main professional organization for computer scientists.

No word on whether Al Gore plans to appeal. ;-)

(Hat tip: Slashdot.)

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress